All Cancer-y Up In Here

It has been an eventful ride since my last blog post on tech/culture/theater.  On May 11th, 2013, I posted the following announcement to my facebook account as a way of sharing news I’d received a bit earlier with my community of family and friends.

“He that conceals his grief finds no remedy for it.” -Anonymous proverb.

Friends, the last two weeks has included a surgery and a gradually escalating series of diagnoses for me, currently “Stage III malignant melanoma” that has spread to at least one lymph node. This may be shocking for some of you; it is shocking for Liz and I. We wanted to let you know now because this facebook feed is about to be conspicuously absent of photos from our long-planned trip to Russia, and because before long we will launch into treatment and may need to lean once-again into our beloved community of friends and family for support. I’ll endeavor to avoid maudlin here (indeed I must), but be warned that it may get all cancer-y up in here. For the moment we are well and are in the process of discovering how best to prepare for a vital, healthful recovery.

[Content shift warning] While I intend to resume posting about the topics that interest me most (tech/culture/theater), I will also be writing plentifully about this journey with cancer, what has past and what is to come, including, wherever possible, information targeted to educate people on how they can help themselves and their loved ones avoid this dreadful disease and also information intended to help those who come after me down this regrettable trail.

3 thoughts on “All Cancer-y Up In Here

  1. Pingback: Round One Winding Down | Only Connect

Leave a comment